Forums » Sweat365 Support » Help

Another Site Pulling in S365 Blog Postings

(6 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by itsamonkey
  • Latest reply from Brad Hefta-Gaub

  1. This one, in particular: the-exercise-site.com

    I found the site commenting on one of my strength training entries, and then being listed as a referrer to my pages. Traveled on back to the site and saw the entry that the site left a comment on lifted, in it's entirety, and posted in their strength training "articles" section.

    As a web professional, I'm more then a little miffed that this site is stealing content from other websites and posting it as either its own, or giving the impression that they have permission from the authors to do so.

    Is there anything that the S365 admins can do about this?

    Posted 4 years ago #
  2. I had the same thing happen to me!

    Posted 4 years ago #
  3. Yeah, this is a bit of a bummer... but unfortunately, this is a side effect of the open nature of web 2.0.

    This site is probably pulling content from your RSS feed. Which of course is how many of your friends who want to read you blog are also reading your content.

    You are correct to be mad, because they are trying to profit from this scheme, they are basically hoping that by having content on their site that references your site, that they will be perceived as credible to search engines, and ultimate end up on a search engine search for something related to exercise equipment... But you should take some comfort in the fact that they have a pretty poorly designed site, and they probably aren't getting enough traffic to make any money.

    I have sent an email to the administrator of the site, asking them to refrain from this activity. Although I don't expect them to respond.

    When you see one of these trackbacks, if you mark it as SPAM it will help the system automatically remove those trackback links from your and other blogs comments.

    Posted 4 years ago #
  4. I just went to check it out.. out of curiosity and every link is going to a "page unavailable" screen... interesting

    Posted 4 years ago #
  5. Unfortunately, if sending an email is the only recourse that you have as the owner of this site to prevent such things from happening, I'm going to have to stop contributing.

    Thanks, and good luck, Brad.

    Posted 4 years ago #
  6. Itsamonkey, Can you send me the URL that you they used your conntent on, and I will look deeper.

    But it looks like they took down the content they scraped from sweat365.

    The other thing that you can do is mark your posts as private. Then of course, you and only people who you add as "subscribers" to your blog are able to read them.

    This is not an issue with Sweat365 as much as it is simple how web pages work. After all, this is exactly what Google is doing when they make a search result available to you, they made a copy of your page, and stored it and sorted it into their database.

    Posted 4 years ago #

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.

Member Sign In

Sweat 365 is dedicated to supporting your every-day fitness, no matter what your level and no matter what your goals are.

We'll deliver you inspiration to move more - every day.

At Sweat 365 you can easily keep track of your workouts, blog about fitness and life, and connect with other athletes. You'll find training guides for races of all distances, disciplines, and levels of competition. Yes, even walking a race is competing!. Sign up here free