Forums » General Training » Running

how often can you run a half marathon?

(4 posts)

1. So here's a question that I just can't seem to find an answer to...

I've been training for four months to run my first 1/2 marathon this coming Sunday (yeah me!!). So say i've done your average 12 week program to ramp up to the half...how much time should pass before I attempt the next one?

Do I have to go another 12 weeks?

I want to do a 1/2 the beginning of FEBRUARY, a 12 person relay (three legs of 3, 5, or 8 miles each to equal like 178 miles over 2 days) in APRIL, and another 1/2 in MID-JULY. So on average, 2 months btw each race. Is this feasible? Advisable? Can anyone offer any training plans to keep up the pace on half's...no desire (never say never tho!) to move on to the full...

Help!

Posted 6 years ago #
  2. Good luck on your race on Sunday. Can't wait to read about it. Looking forward to someone answering your question. I heard that once you do a Half you are hooked.

Posted 6 years ago #
  3. Depending on your overall fitness and recovery period, 2 months in between half marathons is very reasonable, especially since you have taken the time to build a good base (4 months). Some rule of thumbs for post race recovery is 1 full day for each mile you run, then start building again. With that in mind you would have 2 weeks of recovery, 5 weeks to start building up again and 1 week of taper before the next run. The nice thing here about your build period is that you are not starting all over again (i.e., 4 months) - your long runs might start back out at 6 or 7 miles and topping out at 11 or 12 before the taper week begins.

Also, during the recovery period - for me, after a half, I will take at least 2-3 days off completely with stretching and hydrating. Then around days 3 or 4 start back walking or hitting the treadmill for 3 miles max.. slow pace, just getting the muscles moving again. That's the first week of recovery.

Have a great race!

Posted 6 years ago #